RSS

Britain’s Debt

12 Dec

Dear Chancellor

“The Daily Mail” has kindly given us a graphic to help us understand how much the UK owes. This is a great help to the confused, but there remain a couple of unanswered questions, and I wonder if you can help me with them?

First, some assumptions:  I assume that the government (and its predeccessors) think that such debt is good for us. This assumption is based on a second assumption, namely that if it wasn’t good for us then it wouldn’t have been built up. Some may – mischievously – think this is an insane assumption, but I would appreciate YOUR view.

As for the questions. I have tried to make them simple.

1) IF the debt is good for us, could you please then explain exactly HOW?

2) If it is NOT good for us, can you pls explain WHY we have it?

Thank you in advance. I feel that given the answers to these questions I will be better placed to decide on my next course of action, specifically whether I need to clean and load the old shotgun and make sure the pitchfork handle is sound.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 12, 2010 in Britain, Business & the Economy

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
